Today is October 22, 2017

Carolinas PGA Inducts Ed Ibarguen, PGA into 2015 Hall of Fame

Additional PGA Professionals Awarded for Contributions to Golf

On Sunday, February 21, 2016, The Carolinas PGA (CPGA) Section of The PGA of America inducted Ed Ibarguen, PGA of Duke University Golf Club into the Carolinas PGA Hall of Fame. Ibarguen was honored, alongside the top 10 deserving PGA Professionals and Special Award winners for 2015 at the CPGA’s Annual Awards and Honors Ceremony held at The Greensboro Coliseum Complex Special Events Center. The event is one of many held as part of the CPGA’s Annual Big Week of Events, which also features one of the largest golf merchandise shows in the country.

The CPGA Section Awards and Honors are distributed annually by the Carolinas PGA Section, as selected by the Special Awards Committee. In addition to the 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee, the following Carolinas PGA Professionals display excellence in their profession, assume an ongoing commitment and devotion to progressing the game of golf and to preserving the integrity of the industry:


Merchandiser of the Year Private: Paul Consolo, PGA (Yeamans Hall Club)

Merchandiser of the Year Resort: Josh Wagaman, PGA (Cougar Point – Kiawah Island Golf Resort)

Merchandiser of the Year Public: Chris Brown, PGA (Tobacco Road Golf Course)

TaylorMade – adidas Golf Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Gregory Crum, PGA (Secession Golf Club)

Youth Player Development Award: Craig Sandstrum, PGA (The First Tee of the Cape Fear Region & Jr. Golf Tour)

Player Development Award: Brad Clayton, PGA (Puzzle Duck Golf)

Palmer Maples Teacher of the Year: Marc Lapointe, PGA (Marc Lapointe Golf at Fort Mill Golf Club)

Horton Smith Award: Jason Sutton, PGA (Carmel Country Club)

Bill Strausbaugh Award: Thomas Dale, PGA (Linville Golf Club)

Golf Professional of the Year: Heidi Wright-Tennyson, PGA (Moss Creek Golf Club)

*Hall of Fame Inductee: Ed Ibarguen, PGA (Duke University Golf Club)

Commemorative plaques were awarded to Ibarguen and the CPGA Special Award Winners at the Awards Ceremony. Ed Ibarguen is the 46th inductee into the Carolinas PGA Hall of Fame. This was the CPGA’s 23rd year as host of Big Week, as well as an election year. Bob Byrnes the Head PGA Professional at Hope Valley CC in Durham, NC was elected Secretary, to join President John Marino (Old Chatham Golf Club – Durham, NC) and Paige Cribb (Coastal Carolina University – Conway, SC) as CPGA Officers. We congratulate all of our Award Winners, our Hall of Fame Inductee and our newly sworn in CPGA Board Members. 

For more information, please visit or contact the Section directly.

{Photos from the evening are available here}


About the Carolinas PGA Section
Established in 1923, the Carolinas PGA Section of the Professional Golfers’ Association has grown to be the largest of the PGA’s forty-one sections with almost 2,000 professional members. The Carolinas PGA Section embraces North and South Carolina, as well as a small portion of southern Virginia, with more than 800 golf facilities. The Carolinas PGA is dedicated to nurturing and improving the quality of the game for the thousands of golfers using its member facilities. PGA professionals are responsible for conducting a variety of golf-related functions, which include human resource management, golf shop merchandising, golf instruction, tournament operations, junior golf programs, growth of the game initiatives, golf club repair, administering the rules, public relations and much more.  For more information, please visit You can also find the Carolinas PGA on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Vine, Google+ and YouTube
Media Contact: Liz Muroski, Carolinas PGA, 336-298-2742,